Sports Magazine Cricket Indian Premier League 2016 – The Cricket Mela

Indian Premier League 2016 – The Cricket Mela

Everything boils down to entertainment. While connoiseurs of cricket still find Test cricket as the ultimate test of a cricketer’s ability, newer versions continue to emerge and impress. Test cricket – the purest form of the game has given way to One Day games and then to twenty-twenty (T20) version. Fortunately, all the three versions are coexisting superbly and are thriving without eating each others’ space. T20s, the latest kid on the block has many leagues running across the cricketing nations, but the one that stands out is the Indian Premier league aka the IPL. Indian Premier League, founded in 2007 by BCCI member, the controversial Lalit Modi came out with the first season in 2008 which was won by the underdogs Rajasthan Royals under the captaincy of the charismatic Shane Warne. This set the tone of the competion for coming IPL seasons and since then has become the go to destination for any cricketer to display his skills and get acknowledged and appreciated but the whole cricketing world. Teams The 9th season if Indian Premier League, IPL 2016 just began a week after ICC T20 World Cup in which 9 teams are participations. The teams are: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Gujarat Lions (GL) Delhi Daredevils (DD) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) Sun Risers Hyderabad (SRH) Mumbai Indians (MI) Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) Gujarat Lions (GL) and Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) are two news teams in IPL 9 captained by erstwhile CSK teammates Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni respectively. Format Format is exactly the same wherein each team will play with every other team twice. So, there will be 56 league matches and then 4 play-off matches to determine the winner of IPL 2016. These 60 matches will be played between April 9th and May 29th, which happens to be the Finals of IPL 9. Controversy The state of Maharashtra is going through a natural calamity. Draught has engulfed various parts of Maharashtra rendering everybody in a precarious state. Water crisis has only deepened with time there and this has caused some issues for the ongoing IPL 2016 matches to be played in the state. Given that there are two IPL teams from Maharashtra, Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) and the reigning champions Mumbai Indians (MI), the situation poses some serious questions to the organizers. Excitement IPLs over the years have become the event to celebrate the game of cricket. It has produced heroes and has shaped careers. While some of the modern day’s greats like Shane Watson owe their career revival to Indian Premier League, some like R Ashwin rose to the reckoning through the tournament. IPL 2016 is expected to be no different and the players, teams, support staff and above all…the spectators all across the world are geared up to behold the action. Game on Guys…

Related Post